rkc99

Unknowingly Driving With A Suspended G2 License

by: rkc99 on

First off, I am 27 Years Old and a G2 Driver. I work a trades job and require my truck and to be able to drive for my livelihood.

A few months ago, I got a speeding ticket for going 104km/h in a 60km/h zone. I planned to just plead guilty, pay the fine, and save myself the time of going to court. Being a new driver, I wasn’t thinking of demerit points. Needless to say, a couple months passed and I completely forgot about it. I did not attend court or pay off the ticket. I also moved from Toronto to Newmarket and never updated my address, which is why I was not properly notified. My own mistake/carelessness, I know.

This week, I was pulled over for going 87 in a 60 zone. The officer also told me that I was driving on a suspended license. I had no idea. Because I plead guilty to the 104 in 60 which I never attended trial, my license was to be suspended for 30 days as a G2 driver and getting 4 demerit points. I obviously did not turn in my license because I was not aware of the situation. My truck also ended up getting towed and impounded for 7 days. I was given two tickets, 1. For 87 in a 60 and 2. For Driving with a suspended License. My court date is in a month and a half. Other than the 104 in 60 and the two most recent tickets, I do not have anything else on my driving record. If it matters, today I went to the MTO and paid off my outstanding ticket, changed my address, and started the 30 day suspension.

I am wondering what my options are to not be suspended from driving any longer than the current month and if possible to reduce the current 30 day suspension as I already cannot work. Anything longer and I will likely lose my job.

highwaystar

Posting Awards

by: highwaystar on

You need to hire a lawyer or paralegal. The least of your worries is whether you get an additional suspension---which you will if found guilty!