Fr0z3N

Suspended License Questions

by: Fr0z3N on

I've searched my best and it's probably been asked before but here's my situation

I got my license suspended for dangerous driving for a year 1st offence.

2nd offence I got charged and plead to dangerous driving again but negotiated the sentencing to 12 months driving suspension.

I moved to New Brunswick to get away from the urge to drive and that 12 months is up next week (I've done a whole damn year no driving waiting for this day) and yesterday I called to find out what I have to do to get my license back and they said its suspended until nov 2012 (3 years for a 2nd offence)

To top it off I'm an apprentice mechanic and cars are my life...

Now I've found some information in section 41 which basically says 1st offence 1 year suspension, 2nd offence 3 year suspension

I was told in court and sentenced to 12 months...... what can I do? I'm all ready to buy a new car (have one lined up I'm in love with) and get driving again.

2nd situation: say I am screwed and my license is suspended until 2012 november. Can I buy a boat and still try and enjoy my life? I have my boaters "license" but can I drive a boat with a suspended license? (keep in mind I'm now in NB if that matters)

3rd since I feel like my heart and dreams have been crushed and I now 100% officially hate the law, is there a way to get around an ontario suspension and get a NB license and still be safe?

hwybear

Posting Awards

by: hwybear on

There are 2 types of suspensions you are dealing with, each having their own meaning.

1) Criminal code suspension of your driving priviledge, commonly knows as a "prohibition order", typically prevents you from operating anything with a motor(car, boat, golf cart, riding lawn mower etc..) for a set time period and is "Canada" wide and anywhere (highway, lakes, bush, your own property, private property etc)

2) Provincial driving suspension