A speeding traffic ticket is subject to section 128 of the Highway Traffic Act.
automatik

Ticket For 65 In A 50 Zone...

by: automatik on

Today I was travelling on an Oshawa road. I was clocked at 82 in a 50 zone rounding a right turn. I was the first in a group of vehicles.

I was ticketed for 65 in a 50 after explaining I was late for a Chiropractic appointment.

I am a truck driver by trade. Currently, I have a driving record that includes a 91 in a 40 ticket (stunt racing) from January 2007 and a 70 in a 60 ticket from March 2010.

The stunt driving ticket I received was well deserved. Before anyone judges me, I learned from that experiance and have paid through the teeth for it, deservedly.

My more recent ticket for 70 in a 60 was a mistake on my part. I was on a 2 lane road with soft gravel shoulders and fields on either side. For years I had assumed the road was an 80 zone. I was clocked at 70 on this occasion. I paid up.

While I awknowledge that the ticket I received today was again well deserved, some situations in my life are making me question if I should fight it.

I've learned that my ex-girlfriend is pregnant, and because of this my father whom I currently live with has given me a month to move out (a week of which is gone now).

My employer, who hired me under the condition I receive no infractions on duty or off duty, has already turned a blind eye to my 10 over ticket. They told me the next ticket would result in my termination.

I have a twisted disc (T4) in my back that makes lifting extremly painful, and my job as a delivery driver means I am lifting 50-80 lb boxes of frozen and fresh meat all day. I had missed several appointments in the last week and had to wait over the holdiay weekend for another one. Hence my rush to cure the pain.