Appealing A Careless Driving Conviction

Crazytrain

Appealing A Careless Driving Conviction

Unread post by Crazytrain »

I'll try and make this brief and to the point.

Last March I was convicted for careless driving in Dryden Ont.

I live in Halton region.

Through the past year I was seriously injured in an accident (not my fault).

A close family member was diagnosed with cancer and has since passed away.

Now that I am back focused on my life and future, is it possible to appeal this ticket 1 year later.

As a professional driver my career depends on my license.

Any opinions would be appreciated.

Stanton
High Authority
High Authority

Posting Awards

Unread post by Stanton »

To appeal a conviction, you need to show some type of error in law at the original trial. Might be best to consult with a paralegal to see if you have grounds to do so. Even if you do it might be hard since so much time has passed. Typically the longer you wait the harder it is.

skywalker12

Unread post by skywalker12 »

It's hard to answer without all the details surrounding the circumstances of that ticket, and what happened at trial (i.e., default conviction for failure to appear, etc..)

Assuming that there was no criminal code components during that charge at the time of the ticket/conviction, I think you may have a good chance to have this appealed.

Afterall you are self-represented, and that is a valid excuse before the court for making some mistakes here and there. 2nd, there is a possibility to appeal after the limitation period, you would have to ask for an exception. I've heard of cases (serious criminal matters) where the consent of the Attorney General was sought several years later (in some cases 40+ years after the conviction) based on new evidence (for example: DNA evidence), so the possibility in law is there.