whooopsiedaisy

G2, 1 Month From Full G Test, 49 Over. Clarification?

by: whooopsiedaisy on

So I'm in a bit of a pickle and would appreciate if someone could clarify something for me.

I'm less than a month away (test on April 6th) from getting my full G license, and got a speeding ticket recently. The ticket was for 49km/h over the posted limit of 100km/h on the 403 in Oakville/Halton region, but was reduced from the initial ~60km/h over.

I have no problem paying the fine and accepting the demerit points, but if I understand correctly I'll end up receiving a 30 day suspension for a single 4 point occurrence as I'm a probationary driver, which doesn't bode well with me right now considering I'm close to getting my full license.

If I request the ticket go to trial, wait it out until I have my full license, and then pay the ticket off before proceeding to court, would the traffic violation be applied to my record as a fully licensed driver, thus avoiding the suspension all together?

Additionally, if I postpone the payment through the same method until after my insurance renewal, some ~2 months away currently, would I be legally obligated to tell my insurance company I received a minor infraction if I have yet to go to trial or pay the ticket? If I pay the ticket shortly after renewal, am I also obligated to inform my insurance company of such?

Cheers.

ynotp

Posting Awards

by: ynotp on

You are right that if you delay your conviction the insurance company will be unaware until after your renewal. If you delay your conviction until after you get your G you will avoid the suspension.

I would request trial and disclosure, then if the evidence against you is strong then attend trial if the officer is there just plead guilty or go home before the trial starts.

bend

Posting Awards

by: bend on

ynotp wrote:If you delay your conviction until after you get your G you will avoid the suspension.