racer
VIP
VIP

Posting Awards

Re: Mdieker - Booster Seat Laws Prior To Sept 01, 2005.

by: racer on

mdieker wrote:Hello: I am new to the sight and wondered if anyone knew what the booster seat regulation (in Ontario) was prior to the new law in 2005. I remember in 2002 it was the kid can get out of the booster once they were 40 lbs . Does anyone know what it was just before to sept 1st 2005?

With the help of the wayback machine(link below), retrieved as of February 19

Pre-school and Primary

* over 18 kg (40 lb.)

* booster seat

* used until a child can comfortably use a complete seat belt assembly

Your child should use a booster seat if he or she cannot sit comfortably all the way against the vehicle seat back, if the knees cannot bend comfortably over the vehicle seat, or the shoulder strap crosses the face or neck.

When smaller children are secured only by a seat belt, the belt may ride up on their abdomen. This may cause internal or spinal injuries in a collision or during a sudden stop.

Your child should use the booster until he or she has outgrown the height or weight limits. Children over 18 kg (40 lb.) may use the vehicle seat belt but are safer in a booster seat.

Make sure that your child's head is supported by the top of the booster or the vehicle seat, the shoulder strap crosses between your child's shoulder and neck (not the face), and the lap belt crosses low over the hips (not the stomach). Do not use seat belt adjusters.

why use a booster?

Seat belts are designed for adults and older larger children. A vehicle booster seat helps position the vehicle seat belt for children who are still too small for a seat belt but have outgrown child car seats. High back and low back boosters should be used with lap/shoulder belt combinations. Abdominal shield boosters should be used with lap-only belts.

Older children

* vehicle seat belt or booster seat