A place to discuss any general Highway Traffic Act related items.

Moderators: Radar Identified, Reflections, admin, hwybear, Decatur, bend

Username1

Medical Suspension Tests While Keeping Out Of Province Dl?

by: Username1 on

Good day all,

Five years ago I was a very different and troubled individual and while I was studying at university, a doctor reported my name to the Ontario MTO for alcohol dependence. At the time the licence I held was out of province, and I graduated and moved away shortly after.

Through the years I have put this issue behind me, and while I am happy to have moved on with my life, I know that an administrative burden in another province lurks in the distance. I would really love to be able to address the situation, however giving up my licence at the moment is out of the question.

What I am wondering is if there is any way for me to take the blood tests from my current province and go through the same one year process without having to first transfer my licence to Ontario? I realize thats a stretch and its probably not going to happen, but thats what forums are for, I thought Id see if anyone has heard of this happening before.

Also, and Ill need a shower after I type this paragraph, but Im very nervous about calling anyone from the MTO to ask about this and sharing details about who I am and what province I am living in now. This is, of course, because I am assuming once they have this information my "home province MTO" will be notified and the suspension notice will somehow be transferred. Is this possible? Or is the medical suspension only tied to Ontario? Im slowly gaining more confidence that my out of province licence would be safe if I started making phone calls, but Im still terrified of the unknowns. My doctor has assured me he would do everything in his power to reverse the paperwork if such a scenario arose.