No seat belt traffic ticket - Discuss the HTA here.
tryingtoimprove

Wasn't Wearing Seatbelt, Was Delivering A Pizza...

by: tryingtoimprove on

Hi there,

Unfortunately, I can not find the disclosure (which I am sure I sent a request for), and I know without it there is little this board can do for me, but I will tell you exactly what happened:

I was delivering a pizza and realized that I was low on gas, so I pulled into a gas station, as soon as I got to the pump, I see a police car behind me. I was certain I had my belt on, but of course the constable's word was different.

He mentioned he saw me in the intersection, without my belt on.

I was wearing a white t shirt.

What are my defenses? I was making a delivery a block from the gas station?

I can't afford to pay this ticket, I am a student.

Sorry I could not provide disclosure.

Thank You

ynotp

Posting Awards

by: ynotp on

Your defense if it gets to trial is that you are absolutely certain that you were wearing your seatbelt and you always wear your seatbelt even when delivering pizza. If you are convicted you can ask for a reduced fine and time to pay. The key is to be a better witness than the officer so that your testimony in given at least as much weight as his resulting in you being found not guilty.

jsherk
High Authority
High Authority

by: jsherk on

Was it day time or night night time? Do you have tinted windows? Where was the police situated?

These are all important questions that you need to consider when cross examining the police officer to try and bring reasonable doubt to what he said. And as well you would say what ynotp says above.

+++ This is not legal advice, only my opinion +++
tryingtoimprove

jsherk wrote:Was it day time or night night time? Do you have tinted windows? Where was the police situated?