A place to discuss any general Highway Traffic Act related items.

Moderators: Radar Identified, Reflections, admin, hwybear, Decatur, bend

Slyk

Hta172 And Police Conduct

by: Slyk on

Hey everyone. I've been trolling the forums for a while and finally decided to join up tonight. I have a few random questions, and I'm hoping this knowledgeable community can help me out!

First off, I am a student, and one day would like to pursue a career in law to some degree. I am curious about a recent case, where person I know was charged with stunt driving for his alleged speed. He was issued two part 3 summons, one for speeding, and one for the stunt driving offense under HTA s.172.

A few questions: 1) Why two charges for the same thing? (50 over the posted limit)

2) If the officer wrote "Racing" as the charge, and simply the section (172) on the summons notice, does this constitute a fatal error? If so or if not, what are the associated stipulations with this? We're under the impression that the summons should have been worded "perform stunt, to wit: 50 over, contrary to s. 172, subs. 1". Instead the word Racing appears, and in the section field it just says 172. No subs.

3) The constable claims to have observed a speed just above 50 over, verified with radar, and then paced the vehicle at the higher speed (for which the summons were issued). The problem is that he claims to have paced at a great distance (a few hundred metres, which seems very far away) for one mile. One version of his notes says paced for 1 mile and the other says 2 miles. Not only does this seem improbable, AND unreliable (2 versions of conflicting notes), but based on the assumptions of total distance traveled, and the police vehicle's ability to accelerate, the version in his notes seems mathematically impossible. Is this enough to cast reasonable doubt on the evidence or is an expert witness required to verify the impossibility of these actions?