A place to discuss any general Highway Traffic Act related items.

Moderators: Radar Identified, Reflections, admin, hwybear, Decatur, bend

Rdlz82

Driving Without Headlights...interpretation Of Law

by: Rdlz82 on

So my luck (and arrogance) has finally run out. But I still need to understand if I'm interpreting Section 62(1) correctly.

Background: I've been driving around GTA for several months now with no headlights, only my fog lights on. I've done this pretentiously because of my interpretation and understanding of this particular section of the HTA. In this section of the HTA it states that only "lamps" (not headlights) are required to be mounted on both sides of the vehicle. Because "headlights" is not specified anywhere, I've taken this to understand that with my fog lights on, I should be okay. Now it does explain further what the strength of those lamps should be and that the light should be clearly discernable for a min. of 150m or more. And to be honest with you, i know my fog lights are not that strong, so if an officer ever did decide to pull out a measuring tape, I'd have no leg to stand on.

But I stumbled across this because of my first encounter being pulled over for the issue. Both my headlights were out (I've never had both working due to bad wiring and the other one blew) and the police stopped me. They were about to confiscate my vehicle but I put the fog lights on and they permitted me to go home that night. So curious, I read up on the law and sure enough, it doesn't state anywhere that headlights are necessary. So of course, me and my defiant self, continued to go around town without lights. I've actually been pulled over 3 times previously and talked my way out of it. They weren't exactly pleased with me informing them of the actual wording of the law, but sure enough each time they let me off. Of course, this was Peel Region, which in general tend to be the tougher set.