MsDeeya

Careless Driving After Accident

by: MsDeeya on

Hi,

I just had an accident and was charged with careless driving. I am a new driver and only got my G2 license about a month ago.

A guy parked at the side of the road opened his door wide in front of my car a split second before I hit it. The door came off his car onto my bonnet and I was blinded and got a shock from impact, my windscreen also got cracked. With the shock if impact, my hand turned the steering wheel and the car hit the two cars parked in front of the car that opened the door.

The person who opened the door has minor cuts and did not need medical assistance.

Cops came and were very nice at first and asked me what happened. One asked if he opened the door why did you hit other cars and I explained that I moved the wheel from the shock and couldn't see.

He then told me I should have avoided the door and should not have turned into other cars and gave a careless driving ticket.

Which option should I chose and do I stand a chance or getting this removed? My friend got careless driving for rear ending a car and successfully got it reduced to following to closely I think. Will this really double my rates? I have pictures of the incident and damaged door. The door sort of came up vertically like some sports car Ferrari's open, when I hit it.

What should I have done in this situation?

bend

Posting Awards

by: bend on

Just so you are aware, your license will be suspended for 30 days if you are convicted. As a G2 driver, you are subject you Novice Driver Escalating Sanctions. If you are convicted of 4 or more points on a single charge, you will automatically be suspended.

If you got pictures of the scene, post them (no need for closeup damage pictures). The fact you got a careless driving charge and the car you hit having vertical doors has me intrigued.

MsDeeya