Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.

Ontario Highway Traffic Act

Discuss the Ontario Highway Traffic Act.

Post Your Traffic Ticket, and Get Help!

The Ontario Traffic Ticket Forum!

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Check It Out
No unread posts New Set Fines Starting Sept 1st, 2015! Read and Learn Here.

Careless Driving after accident
PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2013 8:40 am 

Hi,

I just had an accident and was charged with careless driving. I am a new driver and only got my G2 license about a month ago.

A guy parked at the side of the road opened his door wide in front of my car a split second before I hit it. The door came off his car onto my bonnet and I was blinded and got a shock from impact, my windscreen also got cracked. With the shock if impact, my hand turned the steering wheel and the car hit the two cars parked in front of the car that opened the door.

The person who opened the door has minor cuts and did not need medical assistance.

Cops came and were very nice at first and asked me what happened. One asked if he opened the door why did you hit other cars and I explained that I moved the wheel from the shock and couldn't see.

He then told me I should have avoided the door and should not have turned into other cars and gave a careless driving ticket.

Which option should I chose and do I stand a chance or getting this removed? My friend got careless driving for rear ending a car and successfully got it reduced to following to closely I think. Will this really double my rates? I have pictures of the incident and damaged door. The door sort of came up vertically like some sports car Ferrari's open, when I hit it.

What should I have done in this situation?

Re: Careless Driving after accident
PostPosted: Wed Nov 06, 2013 10:35 am