A place to discuss any general Highway Traffic Act related items.

Moderators: Radar Identified, Reflections, admin, hwybear, Decatur, bend

waterlooguy

Bicyle-car Collision

by: waterlooguy on

Hi there,

I'm a university of waterloo student and luckily I've come across this thread. Here's what happened:

Around 2 months ago, as I was pulling through my driveway, a bicycle hit me. It was raining heavily and after signaling left and looking carefully (hence no negligence), I turned left. There was no way I would have seen the cyclist. Again, I state that I looked carefully before turning. However, I heard a loud THUD and the bike went on my windshield and the cyclist went on the grass. I got out of the car immediately and asked if he was alright and invited him in to check for any damages. He was shaking but didn't seem to suffer any damages except for a bleeding thumb. We exchanged information (address, phone number, driver's license number) and we agreed not to go through insurance since I'm a student - there's no way I would have afforded the costs. At that time, I thought he was at fault for the following reasons:

- It was both dark at night AND raining - and he had no lights on his bike.

- He wasn't wearing a helmet.

- He was driving on the sidewalk.

However, he called me the next day and it happened his brother was a lawyer (I don't know if this information is true) and told him I was the one at fault and had to pay for both his damages and mine. Through mutual agreement we decided not to bring the matter to the police and i would cover for the costs of his wheels, since they got flattened from the impact. I also went to fix my car (windshield, cornering lights, fender) up to the costs of $500. So far I absorbed the costs.