A place to discuss any general Highway Traffic Act related items.

Moderators: Radar Identified, Reflections, admin, hwybear, Decatur, bend

Vysh

15km Over Ticket, Need Some Advice

by: Vysh on

hey guys, i'm new to the community (referred to here by a buddy who frequents this forum alot) and i was told that i can get a few of my questions regarding my situation here.

so i guess ill start telling the story.

Around 8 am, I'm driving up a Leslie road in richmond hill to go to work where a cop is parked in the driveway of a gardening vendor doing radar speeding stops. so i then turn onto elgin mills and he pulls me over. he tells me that i've been going 30 over in a marked 40 km zone. at this point, im like what, how could that be possible? i've been a careful driver for the past 3 years because my insurance is killing me and the fact that all my past tickets are actually going to be cleared this year. nevertheless, he asks for my insurance and ownership, i give it to him. it turns out i never put the new insurance slip into the wallet and that one expired March 09 (these are things that slip my mind to replace because theres nothing to remind me unless i get pulled over which is rarely, lol)

nevertheless, at this point he gives me a warning about not having the up-to-date insurance because i told him if he could just call it in, he'd see that the car is insured up to date and he told me at that point that its not his job, hes not going to do it, that i gotta provide him the paperwork. he also gave me a ticket for going 15 over instead of 30 over. he says that if i should go to court, that i'll be convicted of the 30 over charge instead of a 0 demerit point 15 over charge.