anon12345

Speeding Ticket 30 Km In 50 Km Limit But Charged 15km Over.

by: anon12345 on

Hello everyone,

I need advise regarding my insurance:

Please help me out with as much you can in your previous experience similar to this.

I am 24 and I have 5 years of driving experience with no accidents, speeding tickets and a clean record.

So I was driving in Whitby (registered and live in Barrie) in a 50 km road limit and I was doing 80 km. I got pulled over by police on one of their speed traps. An officer pulled me over and claimed I was 80 km over. provided him with drivers license, registration and Insurance. acknowledged that I went over and asked to get off with a warning. after he arrived back he wrote me a ticket for going 15 km over the limit with no demerit points.

Question: my insurance is with allstate and after receiving the ticket and this is my first ever offence, I was wondering if I just pay the offence and don't inform insurance, will this all in all affect my insurance I currently have and will my insurance find out about this? Anyone that has allstate too can you advise me on this?

bend

Posting Awards

by: bend on

anon12345 wrote:Question: my insurance is with allstate and after receiving the ticket and this is my first ever offence, I was wondering if I just pay the offence and don't inform insurance, will this all in all affect my insurance I currently have and will my insurance find out about this? Anyone that has allstate too can you advise me on this?

Technically, you're supposed to inform your insurance provider yourself. It's a part of policy terms. I'm not going to pretend anyone anyone does this (no one does).

Yes, your insurance company periodically pulls up your abstract. It's not something that gets wired to them immediately from the court house upon conviction. So while nothing happens today, they may ding you some time down the road.