Stach

131 In A Posted 90 And Failure To Provide Insurance. Reduced

by: Stach on

Hi, 1st offence since 1999.

I have had an impeccable driving record since I got a speeding ticket when I was 19. Learnt my lesson and drive like a gramps. However mistakes do happen. I also drive commercial vehicle for a living.

I was traveling on HWY 11N on Monday Sept. 18th. I had my cruise on as I usually do for hwy driving long distance. I was returning from Rouyn Noranda late at night. Of course it's the first time I've ever driven this road I would pass the transports whenever a passing lane would present itself.. I came up onto a transport and a passing lane came up. So I accelerated to get in front as quickly as I could not knowing how long this passing lane would be and to allow the big rig to have his distance. As soon as I pulled out to pass the rig in the left passing lane the car in oncoming threw his lights on and proceeded to turn around. At this point I knew I was speeding obviously because I gave it gas to get past the transport, but had no idea how fast I was going because I had just began to accelerate and got into the passing lane to pass him. I pulled over. He said I was doing 131 in a 90. Why so fast. I explained I was just passing the transport and I was not speeding at all prior to that. He asked for license and registration. I gave him everything. At this point he said my insurance was expired. Oh I said, hang on I have the new slips In here somewhere. (Sometimes i dont put the insurance in my insurance card for months but I just stick the envelope that comes in the mail in the glove box). As i was searching through my large stack of papers he simply said

"Tell you what, you pay the failure to provide Insurance card for $65 And I'll reduce the ticket to the lowest I can which is $50."

I asked him if I had 72 hours to show the insurance would that ticket be gone?

He then said do you want to pay the full thing instead?