justadude

Car #3 In A 5 Car Pileup - Got Hit With Careless Driving.

by: justadude on

Hi everybody, this is my first time posting here and also my first violation EVER. Sorry for the wall of text in advance, as this is a very frightening situation for me.

I got a ticket on January 26th for careless driving, despite being the 3rd car in a 5 car pileup/collision. To provide my demographic, I am a 22 year old driver with a G2 license, so I know there is already a huge bias towards me.

7:15am driving in rainy conditions - this is what happened:

I was driving normally, when I saw the SUV in front of me suddenly brake. Seeing this, I start braking as well, when the car behind me smashes into me from behind causing me to skid into the SUV in front. This apparently causes the SUV in front of me to skip bumper to bumper against another SUV in front of him. The fifth car ends up hitting bumper of the guy directly behind me. In short, Car #4 hits car #3(me) who then hits car#2.

The driver of the SUV immediately in front of me turns out to be a detective, and then calls other officers and even forensics to the scene. After around an hour of waiting, the officers arrived on scene and went to me and asked me what had happened. Being in shock from all of the impacts, I stupidly(in hindsight) said that my car skidded into the one in front of me. Afterwards they asked me nothing else. The fifth car in the pile up was let off by the police officers, and she was able to drive off. The first and second cars were also able to go after they had discussions with the officers. The forensics officer only took pictures of the damage to the cars, but refrained from taking any pictures of the SUV directly in front of me - There was no visible damage and she and the detective both used their hands and brushed off dirt and some marks from his back bumper.

There were no injuries reported on scene - everybody had asked one another if they were fine and they all agreed they were uninjured.