debo81

Busted Brake Line Get Me Out Of This?

by: debo81 on

hi all, had an accident the other day on the 417, going highway speed then all of a sudden (as rush hour loves to do) the highway is a parking lot, so i step on the brakes and start to slow down, but as im about 2 car lengths behind the car infront of me, my pedal goes to the floor wish a nice spongy feel. anyways, i hit the car infront of me before i had time to get my ebrake and smacked her going about 20kph. when the cop comes to the scene an hour later he gives me a ticket for following too closely, even though i told him that my brakes let out on me. he said "your brakes were fine". i guess because he saw im a G2 driver and a young woman he just assumed i didn't know what i was talking about...

to make a long story short, the next day my mechanic checks and sees that my main brake line right before the back left wheel was split down the middle (rusty) and wrote me an estimate saying he would have to replace a section of the line. my question is this, can i use that to fight my charge of following too closely? or will they turn it around and say that i was driving an unsafe vehicle??? i bought the car in november and it passed the safety, and everyone's lines are rusty on a car more then 5 years old (i have a 99 grand am) so i dont know how they expect people to know exactly when their line could rupture on a hard braking application.

i hope someone can help me as i cant afford 4 points on my license (god knows what will happen to my insurance)

thank you!

:)
Bookm

by: Bookm on

Try having your mechanic write a note stating the equipment failure. Bring it with your estimate to court.

You have a reasonable explanation for the accident. Unless the Crown can come up with some other evidence that you were following to close, you should have a pleasant day in court ;)

Read the "Steps" at TicketCombats site for court proceedures.

http://www.ticketcombat.com/step3/poa.php
hwybear

Posting Awards