Charged With " Driver Fail To Surrender License "

A place to discuss any general Highway Traffic Act related items.

Moderators: Reflections, admin, Radar Identified, hwybear, bend, Decatur

Bricklaying

Charged With " Driver Fail To Surrender License "

Unread post by Bricklaying »

First of all i'm a G1 driver, so today basically I was driving at about 10:30pm with my mom and I stopped at a stop sign, and didn't see a car coming from the far left. I made a right turn and this car is going very fast, so he was trying to overtake me and on the other lane was a police car. After a little bit of time the police was right behind me so my mom told me to pull over. So he told me what I did and asked me for my G1 license and I realized I forgot it. So, I got charged with a " Driver fail to surrender license " for $110. So how exactly will this affect me? Will it affect my insurance, demerit points? What will happen? Because I'm planning to go with my mom to the nearest police station tomorrow and show them my drivers license and plead not guilty. As I heard they will most likely drop the charge. Could you guys tell me anything else I should do, and/or say to help me plead not guilty and get the charge completely dropped. I feel extremely bad because my mom doesn't have the money right now. Please help guys

Also this was my first ad last ticket, as I have definitely learned from this mistake.

jsherk
High Authority
High Authority

Unread post by jsherk »

So "driver fail to surrender license" is different from "driving without a license".

Somebody else in the forum will have to chime in on how serious this offence is with respect to insurance rates.

However, I think (but am not 100% sure) that the charge you got is much less serious than the driving without a license charge. They probably will not drop it though because when the police officer asked you for your license, you "failed to give it to him" and that's why you got this charge. However it does not hurt to try.