A speeding traffic ticket is subject to section 128 of the Highway Traffic Act.
wmalik81

63 In A 40 - York Univ + Failure To Surrender Insurance

by: wmalik81 on

Hi there,

19 year old G Driver

Today I received a speeding infraction on shoreham drive near York University. A speed trap had been setup.

The infraction is 63 in a 40 as the officer stated it was a school zone. Also the insurance card that was in the glove box (parents car) was expired so a further infraction was issued. The officer stated that since I was a student he would cut me a break if I could provide proof that the vehicle was insured on the date of the offence.

I have thought of quite a many ways to proceed as this is my second speeding infraction. The first was a 10 over in November 2013 and this would be the second.

I shall start with the easiest infraction to get rid of : the failure to produce insurance one,

Can I or my parents just call the insurance company and ask them to mail us/email us the insurance card ?

The officer did state that if I could provide proof that it was insured on today's date he would toss this one out

As for the speeding charge the officer informed that if he saw me in court he would try to get the ticket lowered to a 15 over as I was a student -- No points , ~~50$ fine

My question is, would it be more worthwhile to obtain disclosure? He was using LIDAR and had me from quite a distance.

As for him showing up and possible adjournments so that he may be busy or on call one of the court times, I was looking for some advice. This is Toronto Police and the courthouse is the York Civic Centre. Not sure as to how the proceedings are there as previously went to Newmarket (Davis Drive). Now the first infraction did not see an increase in insurance premiums, not sure how the second will play out. Any ideas?

any advice on how to proceed for either infraction would be appreciated, thank you.

iFly55

Posting Awards

by: iFly55 on