Solan

Charged With Careless

by: Solan on

I have been driving for 33 years never had any accidents. I was recently charged with careless driving. I was going north at a intersection turning left<west>, I had waited for oncoming traffic to pass that was going south. There was a pick up truck turning east and a car behind that. I proceeded to make my left hand turn the car behind the pick up sped out around the truck and entered the intersection and hit my rear passenger door. The intersection has no marked turning lane. I had a puppy in a crate that was possibly injured and so I exchanged information with the driver that hit me and took the pup to a vet. The driver of the car has a witness stating I turned in front of her. I am sure the witness saw the impact however as there are no marked lanes I feel the driver that hit my crv should not have passed that truck on the right side...

I will be pleading not guilty to careless and hope they will offer a lesser charge. . Does anyone have any advice of suggestions that might help my case?

FyreStorm

Posting Awards

by: FyreStorm on

Go and talk to the prosecutor on your first appearance, likely reduced if not w/d.

Make a calm rational refutal of the grounds for the charge.

IF you they don't work with you, set a trial date and get representation...

Solan

Thank you very much for this reply. I did not think I would be charged as she passed on the right of the truck. But my hope is the prosecutor will withdraw the charge or reduce... Should I provide photos of the intersection showing there are no marked lanes? Should I post an ad/sign in that area asking for any witnesses? Thanks again very much....

Stanton
High Authority
High Authority

Posting Awards

by: Stanton on

I'd just point out that it's legal to pass on the right a vehicle turning to the left (or signalling to do so). I think a charge of turn not in safety would have been more appropriate, and likely what you'll be offered by the Crown.

Solan