Traffic ticket for Prohibited turns? Learn the Highway Traffic Act here.
Bamelin

Left Turn (bathurst & Eglinton)

by: Bamelin on

On my way to work today I got a 110 dollar ticket + 2 demerit points.

I was driving north on Bathurst and turned left onto a side street into a residential area before hitting the lights at Eglinton and Bathurst. I normally do this to avoid the big line up to turn left onto Eglinton.

I've been doing this for months with no problems but today a cop was waiting as soon as I turned and I got the ticket. I've never seen any sign out there saying not to turn (not saying it's not there but if it is it sure as hell isn't very visible, I'm going to go double check after work today), apparently it's illegal to turn there during rush hour (7 - 9 and 5 - 7)

I'm just wondering if this is worth fighting in court? I don't care about the fine but I'm not sure what 2 demerit points will do to my insurance ...

I've never gotten a ticket before so I'm new at this.

I should also add that the ticket citation says "failure to obey signal"

??

What signal? Is that even the right citation? I'll double check the ticket when I get home, they did quote an HWT # beside it

Last edited by Bamelin on Tue May 05, 2009 11:11 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Radar Identified

by: Radar Identified on

Yeah, definitely want to know what section you were charged under. I don't know of any "signal" except for the traffic lights at Eglinton and Bathurst. The only other ones I can think of are the pedestrian crossing lights further east on Eglinton. Probably worth fighting, at least from the outset. Sign violations in the city of Toronto where turns are prohibited during certain times of the day are very easy to beat, but let us know what specific section they charged you under and we will try to help you.

Bamelin

Ok I checked the ticket for the exact wording.

At: N/B Bathurst St Into Dowbourne Ave

Did Commit the Offence of: Disobey Ligh (yes the t was missing snicker)