Milkman38

2 Officer Speed Trap

by: Milkman38 on

I received a 130 in a 100 on the 401 Easter Wknd. I have asked for early resolution (phone meeting due to distance) as the ticket is not mine. Both my wife and I witnessed the vehicle directly in front of me literally slam on the brakes and swerve into the driving lane almost losing control of their crossover in an attempt to 'dodge' the ticket which I subsequently rec'd on his behalf.

I was not travelling at 130, I had the cruise control on and would never go that fast as I am a professional driver with a spotless record.

First thing that doesn't sit right. There were two police vehicles sitting in the median. A large F250 (with cap) and a cruiser on the driver's side that was completely blocked from my view. I never touched the brakes as I was comfortable with my speed but as I drove past the OPP truck I then noticed the cruiser rolling 'out' ... also the passenger window rolling up. Can't prove it, but we'd all bet money the two of them were talking back and forth waiting for the radar to sound. ?? Probably not paying attention at all to the traffic. So if the officer in the pickup had his head turned to talk to the other officer on his left... traffic is approaching from his right... he didn't see the car's evasive action. Certainly the officer in the cruiser didn't and couldn't see anything.

I know the demerit and $$ increments that exist in speeding infractions... 130 is never an option for me. 4 points I don't deserve and money I can't afford to waste on a ticket. Thoughts suggestions welcome. I would accept a non-demerit ticket (<15 km/h) just to end this.

Thoughts? Suggestions?

A dashcam would have been a great investment.

jsherk
High Authority
High Authority

by: jsherk on

Did the other vehicle pass you first and then slam on it's brakes? What are some more details on this other vehicle?

How fast were you actually going with cruise control set?