A place to discuss any general Highway Traffic Act related items.

Moderators: Radar Identified, Reflections, admin, hwybear, Decatur, bend

oranges1

Mistake On Representative

by: oranges1 on

I had to make a request for trial for her ticket for my mom since she's not in the country. I think I accidentally put my info down in the representative section and I don't know what to do. This is my first time doing this so I wasn't sure about what I was doing. I was confused about what it means so I wrote down my name and info on it.

jsherk
High Authority
High Authority

by: jsherk on

It just means that you said you are going to represent her in court.

A friend or family is allowed to do this, you will just need a note signed by her saying that she wants you to represent her.

She can still hire lawyer or paralegal at anytime in the future if she wants, and she can choose to defend herself if she wants.

I don't think it is anything you need to worry about.

+++ This is not legal advice, only my opinion +++
highwaystar

Posting Awards

by: highwaystar on

If you're not a lawyer or paralegal, you can only represent your mom for a guilty plea or adjournment in court; nothing else. You certainly cannot represent her at trial or any Charter motions. Section 82 of the POA allows a defendant to act by representative. However, section 1(1) defines "representative" as being a person authorized under the Law Society Act to represent a person in that proceeding. So, that only includes lawyers and paralegals.

Some courts are quite strict on this rule since allowing laypeople to represent defendants would create a loophole against the system of paralegal regulation. After all, anyone could then represent another in court; thereby negating the obligation of paralegal regulation. Unfortunately, some people think that because they saw a layperson enter a guilty plea on a defendant's behalf that means anyone can represent the defendant for the entire proceedings; they cannot.