zprodriver

Parking Within 3 Meters Of Fire Hydrant

by: zprodriver on

This day I was driving a school bus, (I am a charter bus driver), and one of my passengers became ill and vomitted. A teacher cleaned up what she could but we were still in motion so it wasn't perfect. I dropped my passengers at their location, and was fortunate to find a parking space (when came around the block), virtually across the street from the drop off. How lucky I thought, a spot big enough for the bus, the only thing is I would have to parallel park the bus on Dundas St. in downtown Toronto. Two women, one with a big baby carriage, stood nearby watching this and having a chat.

After parking, I washed up the rest of the vomit, and noticed a garbage bin about 250 feet up the street. Before going to empty my gabage can, I bought a parking ticket and put it in the front window of the bus. I dumbed the garbage, then put the can back in my bus. Now wanting to wash my hands, I went into one of the local cafes; but to use the washroom, you must be a customer. So I asked for a coffee to go, and went and washed my hands, then paid for my coffee and left. When I got out on the street, the Parking Enforcement Officer was about 3 feet from me, and asked if that was my bus, (he saw my uniform). I said yes and looked at the windshild, sure enough there was a ticket. I asked what for, and he told me I was too close to the fire hydrant. I said; there's no markings on the sidewalk to indicate a fire hydrant zone, he said "that's optional, you can challange it if you want to."