No seat belt traffic ticket - Discuss the HTA here.
fridgestar

Best Course Of Action For A 1st Time No Seatbelt Ticket?

by: fridgestar on

Hi, I got a no seat-belt ticket a couple of months ago at a police road block on the highway somewhere around Mississauga in the passenger seat, I also did not have (did not get one) a drivers license by that time. The fine was $235 which is very significant to me as I'm a uni student, so I set a trial which they set on my birthday. This is my first traffic related offense (have had a misdemeanor for open alcohol in public in my uni city before if it matters), I am currently a 2nd year uni student living in another city during school time, finished 1st year with a A- GPA that resulted in a $500 scholarship and will be graduating with about a 40k OSAP debt, I'm not really familiar with the procedures in court or how to handle this, so could someone please aid me with their knowledge.

I am going to be pleading not guilty if the cop does not show up, however I do not know whether or not I can confirm that the officer is present prior to the actual trial, can someone please offer further information on this? Should I attempt to disprove the credibility of the issuing officer's testimony (event occurred about 7 months ago) or should I just not risk it and instead play the sympathy card as a uni student? Thanks in advance for any advice.

fridgestar

Hmm, can I still opt to pleading guilty to a lesser fine in the court room even though I went to the court house to plead not guilty initially for the court date? ex: i see the cop then I plead guilty with a explanation, i don't see the cop i plead not guilty. Could someone please clarify this for me? I really want to either go with the cop not showing up and pleading not guilty or pleading guilty with an explanation because I do not lose any points on my drivers license regardless.