A place to discuss any general Highway Traffic Act related items.

Moderators: Radar Identified, Reflections, admin, hwybear, Decatur, bend

brokenbike

Need Advice On Bicycle-car Collision

by: brokenbike on

Hello,

First, I want to thank anyone who can help me. I greatly appreciate it!!

A few days ago I was involved in a collision with a car while riding a bicycle.

The first time I wrote this post it came out way too long. So I made it more brief, and can elaborate on any details that may help.

The biggest problem right now is that the driver of the car has an expectation for me to pay for the cars damage. So, I need advice on how to handle this.

The driver considers me to be 100% at fault. The tentative estimate of the damage is $1000. (There's no way I can pay this as I'm a student.)

I'm worried sick to my stomach about this. My bike has about $200 damage (it's my only form of transport)

I have many questions and rather than squeezing them all in the first post, I'll just ask the most important and immediate one.

I'll explain the details of the collision, and about determining fault later... I just need to stop worrying about this one issue, it's killing me.

How should a collision like this be handled?

Is this normal and acceptable practice for one party in a collision to demand money from the other? (I cannot afford this, so we need a better resolution)

Should I tell the driver to claim the costs with the insurance company? and if so... Would the insurance company then come after me to pay them back?

I see 3 options for this:

- I pay the driver cash. (Can't be done)

- Driver files Insurance Claim.

- Driver sues in Small Claims court.

What is the best way to handle this?

Thank you very, very much!!

Stanton
High Authority
High Authority

Posting Awards

by: Stanton on

I would suggest reporting the matter to the police. By law, any accident with over $1,000 damage MUST be reported and failure to do so can result in a charge.