sneha.lele

Careless Driving Ticket For Obstructing A Cop's Pursuit

by: sneha.lele on

Hello,

I was driving on a one lane highway in Parry Sound city with three other friends in the car. Suddenly I saw a cop car with blinking lights (but no siren or horn) right behind me. I was confused since I wasn't even speeding and I pulled over. He came storming at my window and claimed that I blocked his way while he was trying to chase a speeding car ahead of me. He said I had been obstructing his way for a long time and decided to charge me for it. I had not noticed the car until it came very close to me. I don't believe his claim that I blocked him for a long time. It's impossible that I missed him in the mirror since it was just a one-lane road.

He gave me ticket for 'Careless Driving' for $490.

Is this a case of careless driving? What are the chances for me to win if I contest? I am a new driver (G2) and have no ticket record before this. What is the procedure once I send in my plea to challenge the ticket?

Thanks.

Sneha

Simon Borys
VIP
VIP

by: Simon Borys on

This sounds like a good scenario to request disclosure and see what evidence the officer has. Once you obtain this it would probably be a good idea to consult with a lawyer or paralegal given the severity of a careless driving conviction and the complexity of careless law.

NOTHING I SAY ON HERE IS LEGAL ADVICE.
sneha.lele

Hello,

Since I live in London and I got a ticket in Parry Sound, I had to mail the ticket (with option 3 selected).

Should I expect some kind of an acknowledgement or instructions from the court?

How do I request for the disclosure? Do I have to write to the court in Parry Sound or can I call/fax?

I am not aware of the process and hence really clouded by many questions.

Thanks!

Sneha

sneha.lele

Hello,

I have sent a fax to the Court of Justice in Parry Sound requesting the crown disclosure.