NgK

Help - Careless Driving Ticket - I Don't Know What To Do!

by: NgK on

Hi, I am new to this and this is my first accident so I thought I would try this out. I was recently charged with careless driving while involved in a 4 car accident. What happened (the other individuals in the cars stated this) a car slowed down suddenly (traffic was moving at about 30km or so, extremely busy time on the highway) and the first car slammed on the brakes and did not hit the Lexus, however the second car hit the first car, then the third car hit the second and I was not able to stop in time (I was about 2-3 car lengths). I tried to stop to the best of my ability but was un able to as by the time the 3rd car hit the 2nd there wasn't much time for him to break until he hit the car in front which drastically reduced the amount of space I had. The OPP officer charged me with careless driving which is $490 and 6 demerit points, and how he was talking about the accident it felt as if he blamed me for causing the whole accident (causing every car to hit each other when I was the last one to collide). He very briefly spoke to everyone in their cars and then spent the most time talking to me as I was the last car. He only had my statement in hand at the time and went back to his cruiser. Upon return to my car he handed me the ticket. I explained to him that I did not start the accident, that the second car hit the front car and then the chain reaction occurred. He seemed confused by this and returned back to his cruiser for a moment then came back and asked "at the end of the day you hit a car yes?" which I replied yes to, and he handed me the ticket. At the beginning of the incident when he initially talked to us he also said that "I will try to get you out of here as quickly as possible as it is a busy night" so I feel as if he was rushing this and not doing a thorough investigation of what has happened. I have photos of the incident and the car I hit has little to no damage, the car