Got a Failing to obey signs traffic ticket?
gaton

Disobeying Signs 182(2) (steeles And Kennedy)

by: gaton on

Hey everyone,

I just got a ticket today at Steeles and Kennedy for the sign "right lane must turn right". it happened at 5pm, I noticed the sign, but the centre lane wasn't moving, as there was a red light, so couldn't cut back in. there were two cars in front of me, and a couple of cars behind, and I didn't want to stop to block traffic. After I got the ticket, the cop told me that she went easy with the ticket, normally it would charge for about 200 dollars with 4 demerit points. But this ticket was 110 dollars with no demerit points. I've read through couple topics, and everyone seems to have 2 demerit points.

Also, Im a g2 driver for a year. This is my first ticket.

So my questions are:

i) can I go to first attendance?

ii) Was she lying about cutting me some slack?

iii) What should my next step be?

Thank you

Radar Identified

by: Radar Identified on

If they offer first attendance, that's certainly an option. Or you could call the Prosecutor's office in advance of the trial and arrange a plea-bargain, or show up early on the day of trial, if all you're looking for is a reduction. You may be able to get a municipal by-law infraction out of this one.

As for her lying... probably not. What she probably meant is that she would've written another ticket, for something like disobey lane marking or lane change - not in safety.

The next step really depends on you. If you're looking for a reduction or fighting the ticket completely, you'll have to send in the ticket selecting the trial option. Either way, it gets the process started. Side note: Pleading guilty with an explanation is still pleading guilty to the offence and even though your fine will be lowered somewhat, you will still face the same insurance increase and demerit points as if you'd just paid the fine to begin with.