A speeding traffic ticket is subject to section 128 of the Highway Traffic Act.
ricosuave

Legality Of Aircraft For Speeding

by: ricosuave on

I'm a newbie so go easy on me. I found this forum and did some reading yesterday and found it pretty interesting.

My question/query is this... I am old enough to remember when aircraft were used "back in the day" all the way along the 401 and they went away for many years until recently. I am ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN (although I can't site the case) that aircraft went away because the law was essentially struck down.

This is because the judge ruled that... I'm going to paraphrase... that since the aircraft was timing a car between two fixed points, they could not pinpoint any exact speed at any given point in time. Further that the "average speed" was not sufficient to sustain the charge and therefore that "average speed" was essentially not viable.

I.E. You could be going 140k in the first 200m and 90k for the next 300m (or whatever).

I was shocked when McGuinty and his goat herders brought the law back... I was sure that it was struck down years ago. I AM CERTAIN it's out there!! Early 80's late 70's maybe.

Anybody know the case law?

Any place I can research it?

Rico.

hwybear

Posting Awards

by: hwybear on

ricosuave wrote:

This is because the judge ruled that... I'm going to paraphrase... that since the aircraft was timing a car between two fixed points, they could not pinpoint any exact speed at any given point in time. Further that the "average speed" was not sufficient to sustain the charge and therefore that "average speed" was essentially not viable..

I do not recall those days of aircraft, maybe it was based on fixed points such as bridges or something with inconsistent distances, where today the markings on the highway are pinpointed on the highway at exact spacing?

CANLII is site for case law.

Above is merely a suggestion/thought and in no way constitutes legal advice or views of my employer. www.OHTA.ca