Careless Driving Charge For Rear Ending Someone

Zubberochi

Careless Driving Charge For Rear Ending Someone

Unread post by Zubberochi »

Hi all

First time user here... this looks like a great forum for people to share their experiences. Thanks in advance.

I'll try and explain my story best I can.

I've been a licensed driver in Ontario for over 25 years. This is my first major accident.

One dry, sunny morning I'm in a line up of cars heading southbound to turn right onto a westbound road.

The eastbound traffic is turning left on a turning light to go northbound on the road I'm on.

This makes the way for the line of cars I'm in free and clear to turn right.

As I am several cars behind this line of cars turning right, from a distance I'm scanning the traffic in the intersection; I'm scanning the eastbound cars turning left, and I'm also keeping an eye out for the westbound traffic that is waiting for their green light.

In my head I'm judging the speed at which the line of cars is turning right and I'm thinking "Awright, it looks like I have plenty of time to navigate this right turn without any on coming westbound traffic to impede me."

The line of cars turning right are turning, moving and flowing at a reasonable speed without much slow down and without stopping.

I feel I was a reasonable distance from the vehicle in front of me, about two vehicles worth of space. Just as me and the vehicle in front of me are approaching the turn, the eastbound traffic turning left that was making our right turn free and clear stops turning, and the last eastbound vehicle just begins to cross into the intersection to complete the cycle of cars turning north.