I Didn't Get A Ticket, But Need Help On Some Research.

A place to discuss any general Highway Traffic Act related items.

Moderators: Radar Identified, hwybear, Reflections, admin, Decatur, bend

warwgn3

I Didn't Get A Ticket, But Need Help On Some Research.

Unread post by warwgn3 »

Hey Guys,

I'm not sure if this is the correct section to post this... I'm a tractor trailer truck driver, and although i didn't get a ticket, Last week, I was involved in a conversation with my boss and fleet manager about removing snow off the top of the rig.

I found this article online, which covers driving with snow on top of commercial trucks. You can read the entire article here: https://www.insideottawavalley.com/opin ... off-roofs/, but to sum it up, the article(although dated 3 years ago) states that:

1) There are currently no specific regulations or requirements under the Highway Traffic Act for commercial vehicle drivers or operators to clear the accumulated snow and ice from the roof of trucks or trailers.

2) Snow and ice that has naturally accumulated on the roofs of vehicles is not considered part of the legitimate load, and therefore, is not subject to load securement requirements.

3) Any snow and ice that has naturally accumulated on any vehicle, and falls off while the vehicle is on the highway, is considered a road hazard.

4) Under the Highway Traffic Act, no one may drive a vehicle on a highway if it is in a dangerous or unsafe condition which endangers road users.

5) Ice and snow can build up on a transport truck while its on the road, while its at a shippers or receivers premises or at a truck stop.

6) Most businesses dont have the infrastructure in place to remove ice before a truck gets back on the road. Its not practical to expect businesses install it.

7) Most van-bodied trucks and trailers roof structures are not designed for drivers to climb or walk on. And combined with winter weather conditions, would create an unsafe workplace for the driver.