Buddy123

Trial Completed - Now For The $439.00 Fine (out-of-province)

by: Buddy123 on

Hi all,

Long story short I am an Ontario Resident and back in February of 2016 I was pulled over in Banff for going 130 km/h in an apparent 90 km/h zone. The ticket was taken to court in AB and the offence was reduced to a s.57 Rules of the Road "Disobey Traffic Control Device" which carries 2 demerit points. I was informed by my representative that due to an agreement between ON-AB any conviction under s.57 would not carry the demerit points to my Ontario record. True story! I have since registered a new vehicle, ordered a new abstract and alas no points!

NOW I am contemplating the payment of the non-reduced $439.00 fine attached to the original speeding offence.

My question is as follows:

1. If this fine is not paid by the due date to the Province of Alberta, what are the consequences for myself as an Ontario resident?

- I am aware of the reciprocal agreement between provinces; however, it appears very unclear as to what would result if I decided to not pay this o/s fine. Banff is beautiful and I would not hesitate to make lovely donation to the park but this one leaves a slightly bitter taste in my mouth.

Any advice/info would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Another guy who got a ticket :)

bend

Posting Awards

by: bend on

Buddy123 wrote:1. If this fine is not paid by the due date to the Province of Alberta, what are the consequences for myself as an Ontario resident?

From a driving stand point, it's possible you would be considered suspended in Alberta. If you're caught driving there, you'd be driving with a suspended license.

Buddy123 wrote:- I am aware of the reciprocal agreement between provinces; however, it appears very unclear as to what would result if I decided to not pay this o/s fine. Banff is beautiful and I would not hesitate to make lovely donation to the park but this one leaves a slightly bitter taste in my mouth.