T-boned At All Way Stop Intersection, I Was Given A Ticket

Failing to obey a stop sign - Highway Traffic Act section 136(1).
yyang17

T-boned At All Way Stop Intersection, I Was Given A Ticket

Unread post by yyang17 »

Hey guys, I am totally new to this and I am here to look for advice.

I was T-boned to my right front doorat a four way stop intersection in the Niagara on the Lake area, I was 3/4 acrossed the intersection then a car just bumped me. We waited for almost 3 hours for the police to show up, then as I was buzy calling my insurance company I was given an at-fault ticket saying I disobey the stop sign. "Start from stopped position not in safety." HTA 142 (2). I argued immediately that it was clearly the other car's fault as I did not see any car to my right when I decided to go and as I almost passed the intersection I got hit. The officer said since there was no evidence, no camera, no witness, he has to assume we arrived at the same time and the other car has the "right of way" and the only explaination was that I did not stop at the stop sign.

I am sending my request of disclosure tomorrow to see what the officer has against me but I highly doubt he has anything since he was 3 hours late to the scene and all he has was the statement from me and the other car.

The court date is november this year.

What do I need to prepare for this case and what are my chances of winning?

My girlfriend was seating at the passenger's sit at the time of the collision, can she be my witness?

Thank you guys!

bobajob

Posting Awards

Unread post by bobajob »

gate, horse and bolted.... Dashcam never fails,

other than that, somone will be along to give some advise,

sorry to hear your accident;

getting a ticket after that (if that is what happened) is adding insult to injury !

--------------------------------------------------------------
* NO you cant touch your phone
* Speeding is speeding
* Challenge every ticket