A place to discuss any general Highway Traffic Act related items.

Moderators: Radar Identified, Reflections, admin, hwybear, Decatur, bend

CanadianSmitty

Your Point Of View

by: CanadianSmitty on

Hi everyone, been a long time guest lurker this is my first time porting so pleas bare with me.

I have learned a lot of this site, and am hoping you guys can teach me some more.

Long story short,

I recently got pulled over for speeding (which I still don't understand but that's another story) when I stop the cop comes up to my car with attitude asking if I know what mirrors are for. That he had been flashing his lights and sounding his siren for almost a kilometer before I stopped. And he was giving me a $500 fine. Also that I was speeding and getting that proximal ticket as well.

So as I am stunned by this sitting there waiting for him playing this all back in my head, I know I am nowhere in the wrong, with the stopping. Ok I might have been a bit slow noticing he was behind me, nut once I did I prepared to pull over but did not feel safe as the shoulder of this country road was full of ice, snow & water. I'm in the Ottawa area and we just had -40 then 50+cm of snow, then warm and raining.

Back to story

So between figuring out how to move over noticing the other lane is empty that he can go around all of us, I realize it is me he is pulling over.... so then the oh *EDIT*, how do I do this on the shoulder without any problems.

Needless to say I stop, get lectured about safety vehicles etc . Then he comes back with a $490 "failure to stop for emergency vehicle"

So here are my thought, please tell me of I'm am idiot, or missing something

Yes I was slow, (he said a kilometer, so at 80kmh he was behind me till I stopped about 40seconds.)

His car was a ghost car, not very emergency looking and lights are not at edges of car so there for less visible. Especially glimpsing a side mirror.