A speeding traffic ticket is subject to section 128 of the Highway Traffic Act.
mikec

Need Help/advice For Ticket 22km/h Over, Early Resolution

by: mikec on

First, thanks for this great forum and all the advice I see you guys have given to other people.

I got a ticket for going 72km/h over in a 50km/h zone. I was driving my wife's car and have no previous tickets or even been pulled over in over 10 years. I am thinking of option 2 on the ticket, early resolution. My main concern is if the insurance will go up, I am an occasional driver on her car and do not own a car myself. One of my questions is, since the court that is listed under option 2 is close to me, can I go in person to request ER, or do I need to mail in the ticket?

Also,

1) What should I expect at the ER?

2) If I don't like it, and then choose a trial, can I still do that?

3) If I later choose trial, and then want to reconsider and take a deal, do I still have that option?

4) My wife's insurance is due for renewal in January, if I choose a trial, and wait until she renews her insurance, and then take the deal, will that be more likely that her insurance will not go up, since they will have just checked our records and nothing was there?

Your insight and advice is greatly appreciated.

Oh, and lastly, not that anyone here might care, but I thought that the 3 lane road that I was on was a 60km/h zone, and I sped up to pass a city bus that was drifting into my lane. Although I've heard that they may not care what the reason was.

jsherk
High Authority
High Authority

by: jsherk on

I suggest you plead NOT GUILTY and request a Trial with the officer present. Once you get your notice of trial, then request disclosure. Once you get disclosure (this is the evidence they have against you) and have read it THEN set up a meeting with the prosecutor to discuss early resolution.