thisiskat

Ftc Ticket: Rear-ended The Lady But No Damage

by: thisiskat on

Hi,

I'd like to start this off by saying for the last two weeks I have been browsing the forums. I'm trying to prepare myself for an early resolution meeting with a prosecutor (in Brampton, if that matters). I have a clean record and as a teacher, I always do my best to follow rules (trying to practice what I preach!)

On December 4, 2014 I was preparing to turn right at a very busy intersection. This intersection is one where you yield to oncoming traffic when turning right (as there is a dedicated turning lane). This lane is also beside a bus shelter and upon completion of the turn, you are sharing a lane with oncoming traffic. I was preparing to turn right and came to a complete stop knowing that one vehicle was ahead of me. I saw the vehicle begin to drive and began to accelerate slowly. While accelerating, I also quickly scanned the intersection to my left to ensure that upon my completion of the turn I could safely merge into oncoming traffic. While I did my quick check, the car in front of me slammed on their brakes abruptly and I was unable to stop without hitting their car once I realized what was happening.