Improper left turn - Fight the traffic ticket
snjpr

Proceed Contrary To Sign At Intersection Sec 144 (9)

by: snjpr on

Hi,

I got this ticket PROCEED CONTRARY TO SIGN AT INTERSECTION Sec 144 (9), there was a street car in front of me and i couldn't see the sign which said no left turn btwn 7:00am and 6:00pm, there was no vehicle coming from the opposite side so I signaled and turned left.

The traffic officer caught me right away and gave this ticket, don't know what to do PLEASE help

1) should i just pay it off and forget

2) should i fight?

3) do I get a demerit points if I pay off the ticket

4) Where do i know if there are any demerit points associated with it?

Please help, since this is my first ticket I have no clue, i have been driving for past 10 years.

ynotp

Posting Awards

by: ynotp on

1 & 2) Personally I think you should fight every ticket. Worst case scenario you are convicted which is the same as pleading guilty. Best case scenario you get off for any number of reasons. Either way you will have to invest time and effort that you will never get back. Do some research in the forum to learn a bit.

3) Yes if you roll over and plead guilty there will be demerit points. If you contest the charge you are certain to be offered a reduced charge in exchange for pleading guilty. Keep in mind that reducing the charge is more of a smoke and mirrors trick for the prosecutor where they waive points but your record will still have a conviction on it that your insurance company can see and use as a justification for increasing your rates.

4) Without looking it up I believe its either 2 or 3 demerit points.

iFly55

Posting Awards

by: iFly55 on

Demerit Points Table: http://www.e-laws.gov.on.ca/html/regs/e ... 0339_e.htm

HTA S144 (9) carries two demerit points.

If the offence was allegedly carried out in an intersection... then the crown has numerous zero point charges they can amend to; a popular one is S144 (12).