Failing to obey a stop sign - Highway Traffic Act section 136(1).
jonathanfront18

Failure To Stop - Notice Of Trial

by: jonathanfront18 on

So this is my first ticket and I got this in September 2013 for failing to stop at the stop sign. I believe that I did stop, however the officer proceeded to hand me the ticket. I decided to go to trial and received notice of trial in a couple of days. Now my court date in tomorrow and I'm freaking out. I have never done this and I am unsure on how to go on about this.

I am hoping the officer does not show up. But if they do, can I still plead guilty, although I did decide to go to trial by pleading not guilty. If the officer, does show up, I know it's going to be their word against mine. Do I/Can I still plead guilty and ask them to omit 3 demerit points by explaining them that I am a university student and would not be able to afford any hikes in my insurance?

Any suggestion? Tips? Freaking out, this is my first time...thank you

Stanton
High Authority
High Authority

Posting Awards

by: Stanton on

At the start of your trial youll be asked how you want to plea. If you no longer want to have a trial, you can simply enter a plea of guilty. During sentencing, you can explain your financial situation and the Justice of the Peace may reduce your fine. They cannot however reduce the demerit points. Once youre convicted of an offence, theyre automatically applied by the MTO.

bend

Posting Awards

by: bend on

jonathanfront18 wrote:Can I still plead guilty and ask them to omit 3 demerit points by explaining them that I am a university student and would not be able to afford any hikes in my insurance?

Yes, you can still plead guilty. They may or may not offer you a reduced charge. They'll do so in return for a guilty plea and avoiding a time consuming trial.