A place to discuss any general Highway Traffic Act related items.

Moderators: Radar Identified, Reflections, admin, hwybear, Decatur, bend

Risktaker

I'm Thinking Of Taking Some Big Risks-please Help

by: Risktaker on

I have recently received a notice for licence cancellation under the "novice driver escalating sanctions act"

I received my license in July of 2012 and in that time I have unfortunately accumulated 4 tickets under the hwy traffic act: 2 speeding 0-15 km, failure to produce license, and a blood alcohol charge (I blew a 26 and as a G2 driver you cannot have any alcohol in the system). I'm aware that the way I've been driving is extremely irresponsible and I'm not looking for a lecture, I'm looking for advice.

I am an Ironworker apprentice and I need my driving privileges in order to maintain a source of income, so at this point I am deciding to drive regardless of what the law is saying I can or cannot do.

Here are my questions:

I have not yet surrendered my cancelled licence to the MTO. Will this increase my wait time for applying for a G2 road test? (Mandatory 12 month wait period or 8 months if you complete a driving school program)

Will my insurance automatically cancel me or do I need to call them to let them know of my current situation?

If they don't find out and I continue to be a policy holder with their company could I be charged with fraud?

I have done my research and if I'm caught driving with a cancelled licence I could receive an additional 9 month suspension on top of the 12 month waiting period, 45-180 day vehicle impoundment and a charge of around $500.

Would I be better off driving with my cancelled licence, or driving with only a G1?

I understand both are illegal but I'm not going to jeopardize my career by missing work.

Although my licence is cancelled, do I have any options in regards to some temporary license for someone in my situation that needs to drive in order to maintain a source of income?

tdottopcop