StarShoot

Help: Careless Driving For Minor Bump <$1,000 No Injuries

by: StarShoot on

Hello,

I am a novice driver; I just got my G2 licence about three months ago. I am also over 25 years old and I was driving a rental car. I was recently driving downtown Toronto in a 40km/h zone going 20km/h. The driver infront of me suddenly hit the brakes and I hit my brakes as soon as I could. My car touched his vehicle and there was a slightly circular indent on his car made by one of the license plate bolts on my car. The driver asked me to pay cash, to which I felt suspect. Having zero experience with such issues, I decided that it would be best to call the police. I trusted that the police would be able to assess the situation and let me know the appropriate next steps. When the police arrived, he took my information and charged me with careless driving. He also informed me that any accident under $1,000 with no injuries, then you can just exchange insurance information and drive off.

Now, feeling extremely stupid, I do not know how to handle the situation. I personally believe that this was a non-event, and I'm unsure why the police officer charged me with careless driving instead of just informing us to exchange information and drive off. The ticket carries 6 points and a $400 fine. I'm planning on getting a car soon and will need to get car insurance. I know if convicted of careless driving, it would be a major deal for me.

I am still within 15 days of being charged and I have to go and select my options soon.

My questions are:

1) Should I utilize the early resolution option or just go set a trial date immediately?

2) If I go to trial; would this be an absurd incident? Or there is actually some legal grounds that can convict me.