Off_Camber

by: Off_Camber on

i tried getting a forum for commercial vehicle violations. I work as a commercial truck driving driving instructor at a very reputable and large transport training school and have over 20 years commercial experience.

And as for hours of service, I actually had a Motor Carrier Enforcement officer at the scale tell me he didnt even know the full rules for the hours of service. Its more complicated than it needs to be.

Needs to be very simplified. you drive for 13, and off for 8. get rid of this 10 hour rule and 36 hr reset nonsense. the old systym was easier to understand, all Canada was trying to do was sync with the US hours of service.

Simon Borys
VIP
VIP

by: Simon Borys on

Off_Camber wrote:Its more complicated than it needs to be.

I completely agree! The laws about CMV's in general are quite complicated, but hours of service regulations are beyond ridiculous. I can tell you from my experience that not all MTO officers and very, very few police officers understand them enough to charge anyone for violating them.

What's the point in having laws that are too complicated to enforce?

NOTHING I SAY ON HERE IS LEGAL ADVICE.
The Trucker

by: The Trucker on

Simon is there a definition of Heavy Trucks in Ontario Highway Traffic Act. Do you know it ?

Is there a By-law from the city of Mississauga with that definition. Do you know it ?

I could not find anything ?

I do found one from the city of Sault Ste Marie and one from Vaughan .They are different.

Simon Borys
VIP
VIP

I believe the definition of heavy truck is synonymous with commercial motor vehicle (GW or RGW over 4500 kg), unless otherwise specified by by-law. I'm not sure though. I will post here if I can find a more concrete answer.

The Trucker

Thank you for the post Simon

The definition is for Heavy Vehicle , not Heavy trucks.

"heavy vehicle" means a vehicle, including a bus but not including a school bus, as defined