Gave Me A Ticket But Not Person Behind Me - 182(2)

Got a Failing to obey signs traffic ticket?
fastrider

Gave Me A Ticket But Not Person Behind Me - 182(2)

Unread post by fastrider »

Hello,

So, was travelling in downtown Toronto, west heading towards the gardiner on side streets. There is a "no left turn" sign from 3:30-6:30. The 30's are quite small, and I actaully thought it was from 3:00-6:00pm. I was charged at 6:14pm.

However the person behind me was not given a ticket and clearly violated this rule as well. I am very upset at this selective "give a ticket to who you want". I am a young professional driving a fairly exotic car. I was asked "is this your car?". Also I am a minority, and so I believe I was NOT randomly selected. The person infront of me did get a ticket.

I took a picture of the car behind me, and took it's licence plate. Do I have any grounds to move further based on this "selective" police officer? How can a police officer give a ticket to whom he/she pleases WHEN all have broken the bylaw? This is UNFAIR!

Sure it is 2 demerit points and I might get lucky with 0 demerit points if I get a plea, but the fact that we live in an unjust and selective society does not bode well with me?

Please advise!

Radar Identified

Unread post by Radar Identified »

In any situation where a police officer is looking for a specific offence (in this case, the turn), they'll stop the first vehicle they see that does it. It's kinda like officers pulling people over for speeding when they're doing a roadside speed trap: They stop the vehicle at the front of the line (unless it's the OPP airplane). This may seem unfair, but it's how it's done. They can't stop everybody. Sometimes they'll nail more than one vehicle, sometimes not. I've been caught that way many times, too.