JayEmSee

160km/h On The Qew Niagara Going To Hamilton

by: JayEmSee on

I was on my way home Wednesday March 24, 2010 coming from Burlington going to Hamilton on the QEW Niagara. I was pulled over at the bottom of the Skyway Bridge (in Hamilton) at around 11:50 pm. The OPP officer said I was going 160km/h in a 100km/h zone.

I was driving my father's 1999 Ford Winstar and I have a G2 License. I am an 18 year old male currently in university and I work as a lifeguard, swim instructor and lifesaving instructor (teaching first aid and CPR). This is my third year of driving and my first ever roadside stop, and traffic offense.

The officer did not show me the radar that I was going that speed (I know it doesn't mean much but I thought I'd add that anyways), The officer took my license and suspended it for seven (7) days and had my father's vehicle impounded for seven (7) days. I was given two (2) summons to court. For: Speeding over 50km/h and Stunt Racing.

The officer stated that he had seen me speeding in Burlington prior to going on the skyway bridge and yet I was pulled over after getting off the bridge and my roadside stop was in Hamilton. Yet my summons to court is scheduled to be in Burlington. This I found to be very confusing... Yet he did say I was completely cooperative in the matter and was calm and respectful. (Will this help me at all?)

I am most definitly considering legal counsel and representation from a paralegal (one of those X-copper guys). I am fully aware of the consequences that this brings.

Does anyone have an idea of what will happen? This is my first traffic offense and there are two summons. What does that mean? Will one of them be dropped?

Does anyone have any advice on the subject?

Thank you for your time

cruzmisl

by: cruzmisl on