A place to discuss any general Highway Traffic Act related items.

Moderators: Radar Identified, Reflections, admin, hwybear, Decatur, bend

gilbert1111

Signalling For Speed Trap

by: gilbert1111 on

Hi,

I'm a newbie, so be kind if I'm messing up. Question: is it illegal to signal oncoming traffic that they are approaching a speed trap by flashing one's lights?

I ask because I was stopped for doing that yesterday evening, but did not end up with a ticket. The officer spend 5-10 minutes n his car, then sent me on my way. I'm wondering if he changed his mind or found out it was legal.

If it is illegal, where will I find it?

Thanks,

Michael

admin
Site Admin
Site Admin

Posting Awards

by: admin on

I believe there was an incident where a TO man was charged for signaling other drivers about a speed trap..

The charge was for "alternating flashing headlights typically used by emergency vehicles."

According to official police statements it is not illegal!

Here is a good article about such a case:

http://www.wheels.ca/Article%20Category/article/173244
hwybear

Posting Awards

by: hwybear on

I know people flash lights but does not make sense what so ever.

Most often the "traps" are in areas where there is a high number of collisions, high number of fatalities, residential and school zones. Flashing someone lets them slow down and not get a ticket....so what's wrong with that? I would ask back, your family and your neighbourhood and people are ripping through your neighbourhood 20km plus over the limit....harder for you to get out of your driveway, less time for the driver to stop should a kid run out in front, less time to avoid a collision when someone is slowing to turn....all for what...a couple extra seconds quicker on their arrival to their destination.

Above is merely a suggestion/thought and in no way constitutes legal advice or views of my employer. www.OHTA.ca
hwybear

Posting Awards