coldsnowman

Ticket Help

by: coldsnowman on

Hi, I got a speeding ticket on July 17th. I was on highway 402 going about 115 in a 100 zone. Another driver kept drifting over slightly into my lane and I got frustrated and sped up to get by him. Got pulled over and clocked at 148.

The officer bumped my ticket down to 140 and the fine was $295 and it will be 4 demerit points.

I'm going to take this one to court for sure but want some advice, and have a bunch of questions.

I'm not too concerned about the money. I am however concerned about the 4 points as I'm only a G2 driver, but mostly the insurance rates. I've read insurance companies only look at the number of offenses, not the severity of them, is this true?

In the model of car box the officer marked down HON Silver. My car is a Honda Civic, it is however gold not silver. Does this matter? I think it is just too small a detail but any chance there.

Any chance if I took a plea bargain I could pay the $295 but have them strip the demerit points?

If the officer doesn't show up this is grounds for dismissal correct? I was thinking of getting my court date in the mail, then rescheduling it. If the officer has all of his tickets for one day, if I reschedule I may catch him on an inconvienient day. I know there is an Officer that posts here, your thoughts?

Finally, while fighting this I won't see an increase in my insurance or have to pay anything until I am proven guilty, correct?

Reflections

by: Reflections on

Most people would rather pay a mistaken ticket than experience the stress of going through the trial process. But you need to know that the courts are there to protect YOUR rights. You have the right to face your accuser in a neutral setting and have your concerns brought to the attention of a trier of fact (Justice of the Peace).

This is what I recommend to everyone moping around with a recent ticket in their pocket:

- Fill out "Not-Guilty" on the back (check off the "officer to appear" box).