A place to discuss any general Highway Traffic Act related items.

Moderators: Radar Identified, Reflections, admin, hwybear, Decatur, bend

mustang1988

Out Of Province Adls

by: mustang1988 on

Hi All...

I'm a Saskatchewan resident who recently got picked up for over .80 mg. I was the DD over the course of the night and had 2 beer. The police watched me go through the drive thru at Tim hortons. I actually did eat an apple fritter before I was pulled over. Im not sure if this is to my benefit in court or not. They automatically issued a 90 ADLS suspension and took both my photo id and paper licence away. My duty council said they had to return the photo id for identification purposes. The cop and his staff sargent both said they did not have to return it. Upon further research on this site I have found the following:

( 8 ) Every police officer to whom a drivers licence is surrendered under this section shall return the Photo Card portion of the licence to the person, if the licence consists of a Photo Card and Licence Card. 1996, c. 20, s. 8.

I was curious if this might help out my case at all?

Any input would be appreciated....

OPS Copper

by: OPS Copper on

Only way you get part back is if it is a two part DL...IE paper and photo card. Otherwise it is taken

See subsection 8

This is Ontario law and nothing to do with Criminal Code

HTA sectio

(1) Where a police officer is satisfied that a person driving or having the care, charge or control of a motor vehicle meets one of the criteria set out in subsection (3), the officer shall notify the Registrar of that fact, or cause the Registrar to be so notified, in the form and manner and within the time prescribed by the regulations.

(2) Upon being notified under subsection (1), the Registrar shall suspend a person's driver's licence for a period of ninety days.