Failing to obey a stop sign - Highway Traffic Act section 136(1).
helpticket

144(18) - Alleged Rolling Stop On A Red Light.

by: helpticket on

I was pulled over and told I went through a red light during a right turn. I learned through a friend who is a police constable that the one who pulled me over is new to the job (under a year, and possibly even the first month or two of real duty).

I was given a ticket for $180. I have some questions:

(1) Is this offense automatically associated with 3 demerit points? I see no mention of them on the ticket, but is that understood for a 144(18) charge?

(2) I have been driving for over 10 years with a perfect record. How significantly will this affect my insurance rate?

(3) Do the demerit points stay on your record for three years after the ticket is written or three years after the date of conviction?

(4) Is it worthwhile to plead not-guilty or is there any technique that may be beneficial for me, perhaps utilizing the services of POINTTS?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Please help me fight my ticket.
racer
VIP
VIP

Posting Awards

by: racer on

1. Yes, this offense "awards" you 3 points. The tickets never tell the number of points.

2. You'll likely see it on your bill. Maybe extra $200 per year, for 3 years. However, ***SOME*** companies let the 1-st one like that slip.

3. It is 2 years after the date of conviction. Say you pay today - you're guilty today, the clock starts ticking down. The offense stays on your record for life though, but for insurance purposes it is 3 years after conviction.

4. Yes! That's what we are here for!

What you want to do is file the ticket as "not guilty" (option 3 checked off), check "Officer present" on the ticket. Once you get a court date, file for disclosure. Read ticketcombat's site, there is lots of info there to start you off!

"The more laws, the less justice" - Marcus Tullius Cicero
"The hardest thing to explain is the obvious"