Failing to obey a stop sign - Highway Traffic Act section 136(1).
2_LAW_4

Red Light Offence: Hta Sec 144 (18) - Need Some Advice :)

by: 2_LAW_4 on

Hi all.

I am new to this message board. I tried reading through all the similar threads regarding my subject offence, however, with my court date set for this April 16, 2012, I am running out of time and I was hoping someone could provide me with some advice.

Charge:

The offence occurred at 6:30AM at the signalized intersection of Keele St and Ingram Dr/Gulliver Rd. There is a left hand turn shoulder on both sides of Keele St. I was traveling southbound on Keele, looking to make a left hand turn onto Ingram Dr. I made my way into the shoulder and I was the sixth car in queue. Following the advanced left hand turn light, I was now number three in queue. The two cars ahead of me were deep into the intersection, which provided me with enough room to pass the white line and move into the pedestrian crosswalk, as I edged closely behind the vehicle in front of me.

Attached, you will see an aerial view of the subject intersection. It is not your typical parallel/box-shaped intersection. The lines run diagonally because the cross streets at Keele (Ingram Dr and Gulliver Rd) are not inline with one another.

As the north/south bound traffic were proceeding on Keele St, I was already passed the white line. However, a City of Toronto vehicle, traveling north on Keele, pulled over on the right hand lane (passed the Ingram intersection, but parallel to my car, going in the opposite direction) causing a bottleneck for the northbound traffic on Keele to merge into one lane. This bottleneck delayed the two cars in front of me from making their left hand turns once the light turned amber.