A speeding traffic ticket is subject to section 128 of the Highway Traffic Act.
martron

136km/h In A 100km/h Zone (401 Near Cornwall)

by: martron on

I got this ticket on June 21st near Cornwall on my way home from Montreal. I'll set out details of the tickets and then have some questions.

Infraction 1: Speeding 125km/h in a posted 100 km/h zone. Reduced from 136km/h (as noted with R 136 in the code box).

$93.75 fine, $118.75 total

No fatal errors on the ticket (that I can tell), names, addresses etc. are all fine. I guess he checked off "No witnesses" although I did have a passenger in the car, but I doubt that's a fatal error.

Infraction 2: Fail to surrender insurance card.

$50 set fine, $65 total

No errors on ticket.

Context: Was passing a truck in the left hand lane. Tailgater made me speed up to finish passing, stationary police car clocked me right then.

Other factors: I'm a Masters student and currently jobless (AKA poor).

Valid insurance was not in the car when I was pulled over, it was unfortunately in my dad's wallet who wasn't with me. I was borrowing the car for the weekend. I am not listed as a driver on the insurance (since I don't live in the same city as my parents and only borrow the car once in a while for trips like this).

I don't really deny that I was going the clocked speed, nor that the insurance card wasn't present. It would be nice to pay less, but that would mean I need to get to Cornwall once the trial date comes around (I'm in Guelph which is 500km away).

Question time:

1) I plan to contest the tickets. Mainly because my father's insurance is up for renewal this month and I think it would be good to delay. If I do this, can I simply pay the fine before my court date and avoid extra court fees for not showing up?

2) Should I contest both fines because insurance would see them both as minor offences?